CTTC elected as a Steering Board Member of the Networld2020 European Technology Platform


The newly elected Steering Board (SB) of Networld2020 European Technology Platform was announced in the General Assembly (GA) that was held on November 16, 2020. CTTC’s Director of R&D Programmes, Dr. Carles Antón-Haro, was elected as an SB member for the Research Domain. In the past, he was also a member of Networld2020′s Steering Board for the 2009-2014 period.

Networld2020′s Steering Board gathers the main key players in the telecommunications arena (equipment manufacturers, mobile operators, service developers, research centers, etc.). Voting is organized on a stakeholder basis around the so-called (large) Industry, Small and Medium Enterprises (SME) and Research domains, the latter including representatives both from Universities and R&D centers. Among other activities, Networld2020 is in charge of producing the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda (SRIA),  which turns out to be a key input towards the definition of the Smart Network and Services (SNS) Workprogramme, under the umbrella of the upcoming Horizon Europe framework program.

The list of SB members in Networld2020′s Steering Board for the 2021-2022 period is as follows:

  • Industry: ADVA Optical Networking, Aibus Defence and Space, Engineering Ingegnieria Informatica, Ericsson AB, Huawei, Intracom Telecom Solutions, NEC Laboratories Europe, Netas Telecommunications A.S., Nokia, Orange S.A., Samsung, Telecom Italia SpA, Telenor ASA, Thales.
  • SME: Australo, Montimage, Nextworks s.r.l., Quobis Networks.
  • Research: Centre Tecnologic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya (CTTC), Instituto de Telecomunicaçoes, Lulea U. Technology, U. Dublin, U. Kassel, U. Oulu.