CTTC is re-elected as a member of the board of the 5G IA


In September 2018, the 5G Infrastructure Association (5G IA) – the voice of the European industry for the development and evolution of 5G and the organization responsible to represent the private side of the 5G PPP – carried out an election of the members of its Board and CTTC was re-elected. CTTC’s delegate who will be seating in this Board is Dr. Miquel Payaró.

CTTC has been a member of the 5G IA since 2013 and, in the context of these recent elections, it has been chosen as the only academic partner member of the 5G IA Board for the second time in a row. Moreover, CTTC has also been re-appointed a member of the Partnership Board between the 5G IA and the European Commission.

Besides CTTC, the other 10 companies represented in the new Board are Orange, Telecom Italia, Telenor, SES, Nokia, Ericsson, Huawei, Thales, Nextworks, and Interinnov, which are key stakeholders from the 5G ecosystem.

The more than 70 members of the 5G IA (which represent all the relevant sectors in 5G: industry manufacturers, telecommunication and satellite operators, service providers, vertical industries, SMEs, and research institutes and universities) are working together towards the following objectives:

  • Ensuring a clear European voice on 5G
  • Supporting an European wide 5G ecosystem, embracing research, standardization and development, academia, telecom industry and verticals
  • Representing the Private side of the 5G Public-Private Partnership (5G PPP)
  • Contributing to EU Digital Transformation programs and Horizon Europe strategic objectives leveraging 5G evolution

More information is available at https://5g-ia.eu and http://5g-ppp.eu